Wednesday, December 2, 2009

"Have a Fancy Yancy Christmas" CD Review

Yancy Richmond is an up and coming (and nearly arrived) Christian artist.  What makes Yancy unique is that, so far, she has stuck with kid's music.  I have especially liked her Little Praise Party "My Best Friend" DVD for pre-school praise.  So, I jumped at the chance to review her new CD, Have a Fancy Yancy Christmas!  [Not to mention they sent me one for me - SWEETNESS!]

By checking out the track list, you can see this CD contains a nice blend of "traditional" Christmas carols, and 3 originals (2 by Yancy herself):

  1. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  2. Merry Christmas, Happy Christmas
  3. Wonderful Christmastime
  4. Joy To The World
  5. Christmastime
  6. The First Noel
  7. Medley: Jingle Bells, Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree, Feliz Navidad, We Wish You A Merry Christmas
  8. Angels We Have Heard On High
  9. O Come All Ye Faithful 
  10. The Greatest Gift*
*Currently getting air play around the country.

This is not just music for kids, though!  As you listen to the "Fancy" album - and yes, I'm that old to know what albums are - you are taken on a journey from the rockin' tune of Merry Christmas, Happy Christmas down to the mellow Christmastime.  Her cover of Paul McCartney's Wonderful Christmastime will allow a new generation continue to enjoy this Christmas classic.  Lastly, The Greatest Gift wraps up the CD with what is basically the the events of the night and morning of Christmas put to music, telling the purpose of why Jesus came to earth!

If you're in the market for some new and fresh Christmas music, yet still love the classics, I highly recommend Yancy's "Have a Fancy Yancy Christmas."  You can purchase the CD at Amazon, Yancy's own website, and certainly Itunes.  Enjoy!


No comments:

Post a Comment